The Ten ‘Rules’ of Martinis

My name is Martin and I drink martinis

MartinEdic
5 min readApr 10, 2021

--

Photo: Martin Edic

At some point I had to tell my friends and family that I was putting a moratorium on martini-related gifts. I had too many glasses, fancy toothpicks for garnishes, novelty shakers, books about the cocktail, etc. It was getting ridiculous. So, I’m claiming expertise. And here are some of my personal gripes about martini culture.

One: Any drink in a martini glass is not a martini

A martini is a cocktail made with gin or vodka and dry vermouth. Garnished with olives or a lemon twist. It is not a fruity drink or the abomination known as an espresso martini. No, no, no.

Two: The meaning of ‘dry’

A dry martini has a splash of vermouth, an extra dry martini has a little less. But there must be vermouth, otherwise it is a chilled glass of vodka or gin. Don’t make me have to tell you this when I order.

Vermouth is a fortified wine flavored with herbs, basically an amaro. Dry vermouth is not sweet. Sweet vermouth is never used in martinis but it shines in Manhattans and Negronis, two more classic cocktails.

If you like martinis, do yourself a favor and try a premium vermouth. You’ll be shocked by the difference. And never use vermouth from…

--

--

MartinEdic

Mastodon: @martinedic@md.dm, Writer, nine non-fiction books, two novels, Buddhist, train lover. Amateur cook, lover of life most of the time!