Falling in Love With Something You Can Do For the Rest of Your Life

The opposite of a side hustle

MartinEdic
5 min readMay 17, 2024
Photo by Florian Schneider on Unsplash

Like a lot of writers and readers online, I am seriously sick of this side hustle crap. It’s symptomatic of a disease promoted by unimaginative people pushing the idea that big money can be easily made with little effort, if you know a secret. A secret that these writers will share with the world.

Use a little common sense here. If that ‘secret’ was so lucrative why would anyone tell the world about it?

Despite this obvious flaw in the logic of this stuff, we are still barraged with it ad nauseum. There is a path and it is not secret and does not need to be. There is something out there you can do that will endlessly fascinate you for the rest of your life. But I cannot tell you what it is because it’s yours, not mine.

When I heard the statement in my title during a documentary last night I was struck by it because I have found my version of that elusive goal, the thing I find endlessly interesting and challenging. And not surprisingly it has been front and center in my life as far back as I can remember.

Mine is the ability to express myself through my writing, but yours could be anything and that is the real secret. There are an infinite number of occupations on this planet and…

--

--

MartinEdic

Mastodon: @martinedic@md.dm, Writer, nine non-fiction books, two novels, Buddhist, train lover. Amateur cook, lover of life most of the time!