Day 14: Two Weeks

MartinEdic
2 min readMar 28, 2020

Don’t get excited, we’re not even halfway

For me these two weeks went by quickly, despite the changes in everything. We adapt pretty quickly to things like hoping the store has eggs or flour this time, but not freaking out if they don’t. So far as I know, wheat still grows and chickens keep laying. I am curious how the next two weeks play out.

I’m not hearing anyone complaining about shelter in place. Apparently we are not the spoiled children the White House thinks we are. Lots of groaning about work but that is just the adjustment to new routines and technology. Nothing about my work routine has changed. I still get texts and Slack messages from European clients at seven am. I guess they time those out to not wake me.

I never was an early riser. Probably from living in the nightlife and music scene as a kid. But I am now. I want it to be dark so I can see the sunrise, when we have a sunny morning. And to hear the birds, especially now that there is very little traffic on my street, which is a main commuter artery. No commuters, or very few. When I can get it together I walk early, but not before coffee- I have not achieved that advanced state of consciousness.

This virus only exists in our world, the human one. The planet hums along just fine, in fact it is probably happier because it is a quieter, cleaner…

--

--

MartinEdic

Mastodon: @martinedic@md.dm, Writer, nine non-fiction books, two novels, Buddhist, train lover. Amateur cook, lover of life most of the time!